Blur

Blur thumb mono

Blur – another Illustration Friday post.

This is a very art centric piece, you often blur or blend a line or shading in pencil drawing using your thumb so this is that kind of idea looking up from underneath, as though the paper were glass.

Perhaps it should have been from above? Regardless I enjoyed this piece, it’s part life drawing practice part Illustration Friday challenge, our teacher encouraged us to use tonal drawing as a means of quickly creating a realistic ‘finished’ looking image. I enjoy the technique a lot.

I made this on a large A3 size sheet which allowed for a lot more detail but I still moved fairly quickly finishing it in a couple of hours.

I quite like working large and close up although the head of my course would say it should have more of the hand! That would be a large drawing but it may be worth trying!

I really enjoy using a variety of pencils to create different tonal shading effects. This was largely done with B, 3B, and 5B pencil and then I found my 4B graphite which I used for the British Museum sketches and adds a lot more contrast which is also nice.

Yes this is my drawing hand!

Hope you like it.

7 thoughts on “Blur

  1. Nice drawing! I love all of the tones and contrast. Black, white and everything in between. I like the crop. If you drew more of the hand, it would take away from the message you set out to capture. I also love using a variety of pencils and soft vine charcoal on Bristol board paper.

Leave a Reply

