Back to the old school – life drawing

One hour
Clifford-2010.08.02-1-hour

20 minutes
Clifford-2010.08.02-seated-20min

10 minutes
Clifford-2010.08.02-mirror-10min

3 minutes
Clifford-2010.08.02-gun-1-minute

I’m back into life drawing at Adrian Duttons classes in Bethnal Green, partly because I’m lazy and it’s a two minute walk away but mainly because in the words one of my fellow MA graduates ‘he is the real deal’.

Adrian runs both a drop in weekly and a back to basics series of classes, details of which are on the Meet Up web site for those interested.
http://www.meetup.com/LondonLifeDrawing/

I’m also participating in UPside an exhibition at the Medcalf on Exmouth Market which will be starting in September.

The images above are from the second session I went to and although I have some misgivings about them I am getting a feel for how my line works. I’ve abandoned the pen in favour of the more flexible pencil although I’m now attacking the page like they were a pen.

In the 1 hour drawing I used a rubber for both creative and correctional efforts and am enjoying what it brings to the process.

I hope these inspire you to get out there and draw. I love life drawing because the timed poses mean you always walk away with a good selection of images from every session.

Leave a Reply

